Pre interview notes for Harold Miller

I will be interviewing Mr Miller, a tireless advocate for Camden’s Homeless population, via email/phone.  He will write what he can and the rest will be via phone.  I am very interested in Mr Miller’s background, in particular his outreach approach in the city of Camden.  Since this will be my first interview via email, I am interested to see the outcome.

I found Mr Miller while researching the homeless topic online.  He is very involved with the community and currently works for Volunteers of America.  Additionally, Miss K. from the cathedral Kitchen mentioned his name several times and suggested I contact him via email as she believed that he would be an excellent source for my project.

My initial questions will be guided by who, what, when, why, and so on.  I realize this will not be an active interview, so I imagine the answers will be bland.  Some of my questions may require in depth responses that might be somewhat of a burden to the interviewee.  According to Postmodern Interviewing, under normal circumstances one might use emoticons, but in this case it might indicate a friendly and “rather impersonal approach”  (92), which might seem as an inappropriate way of conducting an online interview with someone I’m not familiar with.

Anyway, for now I will stick to the basic format and hope for the best.  I will follow-up with the results.

Leave a comment